“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Image

I find myself focusing too often on doing.  I feel pressured in general to do something and make something of myself.  I daresay others probably feel the same.  Even though this mentality has caused me to achieve a lot, it hasn’t led me historically to take in life at that particular moment;  pausing to relax, observe, and enjoy when possible.

The focus on doing leads to planning the next thing to do.  In excess, this perpetual state of planning to do something leads to constant deferral of rewards for the sake of a mythical future prosperity and happiness.  The normal retirement plan:  I can enjoy life when I’m old, half as spry, and hopefully still have my wits about me. Sounds like a fantastic plan.  All predicated on living that long of course.

Not that I haven’t enjoyed life – I do, and I have met many wonderful people who I am thankful that I’ve gotten to share it with.  Until recently though, I focused too much on how I was going to achieve my next ambition as opposed to being in the moment and savoring it.  Realizing that tomorrow will come, but the present is continually passing.

Not that I aspire to be Ferris Bueller with reckless abandon, because I’ll admit that it’s just not me.  Even though he’s cool as hell in that movie.  What I don’t want to happen is to suddenly go from Ferris Bueller to this guy in the blink of an eye:

Image

Yes, the movie Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is 27 years old.  I hope Matthew Broderick has enjoyed those 27 years, because he got old fast, and so did I.

I’ve have done an enormous list of things since I was born.  I still do things that I’m proud of, but I’m increasingly focused on what life has brought me in this present moment, not planning what to do or how I might do something tomorrow or in the future, or wondering if I did something correctly in the past.

A state of being, as opposed to doing, is so much simpler and refreshing.  It’s relaxing.  You simply look around, and see what life has brought today.  What am I going to do with this opportunity at this moment?  Of course, life isn’t all sunshine and flowers (as evidenced by the heavy, wet snow shoveled yesterday), but every moment is a fleeting chance to enjoy all five senses if you choose to.  For instance, I am choosing to listen to music when there is silence, but sometimes that silence could be soothing.

Taking the idea of a state of being one step further:  finding what works for me, and serves my needs and wants.  Often, there’s many ways to do something.  What works for me might not work for someone else, and vice versa. It is up to each of us to come up with our own sense of wisdom of what works for us and how things should be.  We define our state of being;  if we let others do it for us we are doomed to not explore our own existence.

Image

So if the guy above wants to shove his face into a book and call it Facebook, who am I to tell him he’s doing it wrong?  Sure, it looks goofy, but hey, if that’s what works for him, I’m happy to let him be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

